In formulation of a Policy on Administration, the department of Medical Microbiology proposed and passed four committees that will help streamline administrative matters in the department. The committees are: a) Education, b) Finance, Research &Publications, c) Support staff, d) Appointments & promotions committee. For each committee, staff members are appointed and they serve for one year, after which they are dissolved by the department and others are appointed.
The appointing authority is the department. The committees report to the department and the head.

1) The Education Committee:

Current Chairperson:
Dr. Florence Najjuka

Deputy Chairperson:
Dr. Benon B. Asiimwe
Terms of reference for the Education Committee:
To oversee Graduate and Undergraduate training; The chair will sit on the College Education committee; Ensure timetables for Lectures, Examinations, Practicals and Rotations are drawn and adhered to; To ensure availability of required Teaching Materials; To ensure Curricula are developed and reviewed; To coordinate Examinations (including setting, administration, marking and dissemination of results); To meet at least once a month; To monitor and evaluate student performance; To handle training communications from the dean; To report to the Head; To report to the departmental meetings.

Subject heads and their roles
Subject Heads for the disciplines of Medical Microbiology were chosen, and these will play an “Advocacy” role for training and research in those fields. The heads are responsible for ensuring that the development of the discipline as in teaching, research and emerging of fully functioning laboratories ensue. As a result of this endeavor, the department has seen three state of the art laboratories such as Immunology, Mycology, and BSL3 (TB culture) sprouting. With time, the department is looking forward to developing her own Virology and Parasitology laboratories with cell/tissue culture facilities.

Subject heads

  • Bacteriology: Prof. Dr Kaddu Mulindwa
  • Parasitology: Dr Elizabeth Ssentongo
  • Virology: Dr Henry Kajumbula
  • Mycology: Dr. Freddie Bwanga
  • Immunology: Prof. Dr Joseph Olobo
  • Cell and Molecular Biology: Dr David Kateete

2) Finance, Research and Publications committee:

Dr. Freddie Bwanga

Deputy Head:
Dr Benon Asiimwe

Terms of reference

Coordinate research activities in the department; Receive, file and review applications; Recommend to the department for approval of research in line with research policy; Monitor research activities in line with research policy; Ensure recognition of departmental role in the research activities; Promotes departmental, individual and collaborative research and publication; Compiles the research activities of the members of the department, and compiles an “Annual Research/Departmental” Report; Compile departmental publications; Encourage research in all various specialties as outlined in the policy on “Education committee”; To ensure GLP and GCLP are adhered to Laboratory space utilization; Procurement of equipment, materials and reagents; Maintenance of equipment, materials and reagents; Oversee rules and regulations of use of the laboratory; Ensure training needs of the staff and students are met; Ensure rules and regulations of the laboratory; Meets at least once a month; Reports to the head; Reports to the departmental meetings; Identify and promote income-generating activities; Ensure proper management of generated funds [collection, banking, spending and accountability]; Head sits on the faculty finance committee; Monitor departmental requisitions
Handles all funds in the department; Monitors financial status of the department monthly, and reports to the department; To compile departmental annual budget and procurement plan; Will meet twice a month; Reports to the department

3) Staff Appointments & Promotions committee

Chair: current Departmental Head
Committee members: five senior members of staff (from the rank of Lecturer)

Terms of reference:
Regular review of the existing establishments; Recommend positions for advertising; Review applications for appointment and confirmation; Advise the University on minimum qualifications/requirements for particular vacancies; To follow up appointments issues; Evaluate applications for appointments and make recommendations to the department; Publicize promotion policy; Encourage the staff to pursue promotion opportunities; Encourage appropriate representation in the various specialties of the department; Encourage training; Meet at least twice a semester

4) Support staff committee

Chair: the Chief Technician
Committee members: Dr Kajumbula, Dr Bwanga, all heads of other committees

Terms of Reference:
To supervise support staff activities; To supervise the technical staff and group employees; To ensure availability of working materials; Receive and report the welfare of supportive and technical staff; To hold regular meetings at least once a month; To develop and review job descriptions; Reports to the head; Reports to the departmental meeting

Download entire departmental policy on Administrtion